IPV6-for-beginners

IPv6 For Beginners


IPV6-for-beginners

IPv6 (Internet Protocol version 6) is an interesting topic for IT students. Some say that if you know IPv6 (even just a small information about it), you are considered as a professional or smart. A lot of people are amazed (even IT students) if they heard IPv6. Why is that so? It is because, it’s not used that often when making some configuration – hardware. So, why are we going to talk about IPv6 while in fact it’s not that useful? Is it? Let’s find out…

We are aware that all devices like computers need an IP addresses in order to communicate. With the billions of numbers of computers nowadays (even mobile devices are connected to the internet), we need more IP addresses that IPv4 cannot accommodate. Now tell me, isn’t it important?

Let me give you a little point – to – ponder before digging deeply into IPv6. This is taken from Wikipedia.com:

IPv6 (Internet Protocol version 6) is a version of the Internet Protocol (IP) developed by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) that is intended to succeed IPv4 as the dominant communications protocol used for Internet traffic. It was developed to deal with the long-anticipated IPv4 address exhaustion by implementing a new address system with a greatly increased number of possible addresses.
Deployment of IPv6 is accelerating, with a World IPv6 Launch having taken place on 6 June 2012, in which major internet service providers, especially in countries that had been lagging in IPv6 adoption, deployed IPv6 addresses to portions of their users. It was estimated that the world launch resulted in an estimated 1% of all Internet users operating from an IPv6 address.
 

Another point is from ipv6.com:

IPv6 or Internet Protocol Version 6 is the next generation protocol for the Internet. It’s designed to provide several advantages over current Internet Protocol Version 4 (or IPv4).
Both IPv6 and IPv4 define network layer protocol i.e., how data is sent from one computer to another computer over packet-switched networks such as the Internet.
 

Moving forward,

IPv6 is about an address with a 128 bits long (a big number that can accommodate a big number of addresses we need in the near future). Dividing this number of bits into two making two 64 bits. The first 64 is for the Network address and the other one for the Host ID. Network address and Host ID of IPv6 has the same meaning with that of IPv4.

This 128 bits is broken down into eight(8) groups of 16 bits. Refer to the example below:

0000000000000000.0000000000000000.0000000000000000.0000000000000000.

0000000000000000.0000000000000000.0000000000000000.0000000000000000

All in all, if you will count the number of zeros, there are 128 of them grouped into 8 groups. And each group separated by zeros is 16 bits long.

The above example is in binary and IPv6 is written in Hexadecimal. Let us then convert binary to hexadecimal. To start with, the eight groups will then be divided into nibble (4 bits) each. Refer below:

0000  0000  0000  0000 0000  0000  0000  0000  ……………(so on…)

This is one group of 16 bits and divided into nibble or 4 bits. If you can notice, there is a point or a period in every after each group (8 bits). This will serve as a guide that they are separated. For IPv6 on the other hand, colon (:) will serve as the separator.

Example:

0000  0000  0000  0000  .  0000  0000  0000  0000  ……………(so on…), when converted into hexadecimal, the IPv6 would probably looks like this:

0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000

Do you enjoy the post? Love computations?, know more about IPv6 for our next topic… the IPv6 network address. Have a nice day!

Post Updated:

Monday, June 25, 2012

Tuesday, June 26,2012

114 thoughts on “IPv6 For Beginners”

  1. Admiring the time and effort you put into your site and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  2. Strategy computer games for all age men are computer repair in
    tucson very popular, these games make you think.
    Also there are programs obtainable only by way of in-app purchases.

    3% of total cost of goods sold in the year-ago period.

  3. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  4. Pingback: Akiko Kaku
  5. Pingback: Cornelius Teitsworth
  6. Pingback: Jaime Cardiel
  7. Pingback: Jaime Cardiel
  8. Politics are almost as exciting as war, and quite as dangerous. In war you can only be killed once, but in politics many times. ~Winston Churchill

  9. Pingback: free burgers
  10. Pingback: My Homepage
  11. I . t offers inserted almost in every field your existence. Via power expenses repayment to help looking are all connected in addition to impacted because of it for some reason to help various other. Industries are automating their particular

  12. This is such a great idea. A friend of mine sent me your url. It’s such a great way to engage readers offline and get physical mail which everyone loves. I may have to do this after my blog is up and running a bit more.

  13. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  14. Thanks for your your content – really interesting. We love our Kindle and the best site for tips and tricks is coolkindles.

  15. Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related info ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, website theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task.

  16. Hi there, I found your website via Google while looking for a related topic, your web site came up, it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  17. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve .

  18. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve for my mission.

  19. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve .

  20. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this IPv6 For Beginners for my mission.

  21. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about IPv6 For Beginners .

  22. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  23. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve for my mission.

  24. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this IPv6 For Beginners for my mission.

  25. =You definitely put a new aerobatics on a content thats been written some for years. Discriminating clog, but extraordinary!

  26. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is excellent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about IPv6 For Beginners

  27. You definitely put a new acrobatics on a substance thats been shorthand roughly for age. Prissy substance, only high!

  28. IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

  29. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did.

  30. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  31. I was searching for this web site final several times excellent website proprietor fantastic posts anything is superb

  32. I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

    1. wow!!! that’s very good to hear, Lewellyn! Though, I found it exaggerating but seriously, I am very much flattered reading your comments.. Thank you very much guys!

  33. This is the proper IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve blog for anyone who wants to attempt out out some this substance. You observation so such its almost debilitating to represent with you (not that I rattling would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new prolong on a content thats been printed active for life. Squeamish shove, only extraordinary!

  34. This is the proper IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve journal for anyone who wants to seek out out about this matter. You note so overmuch its nigh effortful to converse with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new extend on a substance thats been typed about for years. Overnice nonsensicality, but enthusiastic!

  35. Great post at IPv6 For Beginners Arialleeve. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  36. This is the turn IPv6 For Beginners | Arialleeve diary for anyone who wants to move out out almost this matter. You notice so more its near effortful to debate with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new revolve on a theme thats been statute virtually for period. Discriminating poppycock, only uppercase!

    1. hahaha… I don’t get what you mean “You notice so more its near effortful to debate with you (not that I really would want…HaHa)” … But I love the way you say that! haha… Have a blessed day!

  37. IPv6 For Beginners | Arialleeve I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about IPv6 For Beginners | ArialleeveBest Regards Justin

  38. IPv6 For Beginners | Arialleeve Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  39. Excellent post at IPv6 For Beginners | Arialleeve. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  40. Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. WordPress Seo Plugin

    1. hi meant0be,..

      Thanks for a comment. It’s ok.. I will make a new page for a further explanation of IPv6. By the way,.. you can send comments and suggestions to this if you want my blog to be improved.

      Thank You!
      Arialleeve

What do you think with the post? Aren't satisfied? What do you want to add?

